Nhimbe exec director to African Cultural Policy Network

Nhimbe exec director to African Cultural Policy Network

Nhimbe Trust executive director Josh Nyapimbi was elected on to the steering Committee of the African Cultural Policy Network (ACPN), as well as being appointed Convener of the ACPN Working Group on “Culture, the economy and creative/cultural industries” pursuit to his pioneering work with the Creative Economy Outlook Zimbabwe online Portal.  72 founding members from 23 African countries adopted ACPN’s Constitution and participated in the election of its inaugural Steering Committee.


With numerous – and rapid – developments in the international cultural policy arena, there is a need to have an informed, proactive and bold African voice in the arena of cultural policy and advocacy.


The African Cultural Policy Network (ACPN) is an on-line network initiated by Mike van Graan (South Africa) and Aadel Essaadani (Morocco) in June 2017.  Both had served in leadership positions in Arterial Network, a Pan African civil society network with a broad mandate to build capacity within and advocate on behalf of Africa’s creative sector.


The African Cultural Policy Network will work with, and seek to complement other actors in the African creative space.  While the ACPN will operate mainly as an online network, it recognizes the value of face-to-face dialogue and will seek to facilitate such engagement both through technology and through physical meetings.


Other members of the ACPN Steering Committee are: Mike van Graan (President, South Africa), Dounia Benslimane (Deputy President, Morocco), Carole Karemera (Rwanda), Aadel Essaadani (Morocco), Christine Gitau (Kenya), Ayoko Mensah (Togo/Diaspora), Ayodele Ganiu (Nigeria), Daba Sarr (Senegal), Bongani Njalo (South Africa), Jean-Pierre Moudjalou (Gabon), Ayeta Wangusa (Uganda).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *